Self Help Documentation

< All Topics

Additional Classes Protected Under State and Local Law

Various state laws prohibit discrimination against a number of additional protected classes. Examples of protected classes under state but not federal law include:

  • Ancestry
  • Age (at least 40-years old)
  • Marital status
  • Military status
  • Order of protection status
  • Sexual orientation
  • Unfavorable discharge from military service
  • Source of income, including discrimination against housing voucher holders

State and local human rights ordinances should be checked to determine what, if any, additional classes are protected in the local jurisdiction

Previous Ad Volerum / Property Tax
Next Adjustable-Rate Mortgage (ARM)
Table of Contents