Self Help Documentation

< All Topics

Neighborhood Life Cycle

As reflected by the Principle of Change, a neighborhood typically evolves through three discernible life patterns.

The three stages in the lifecycle of a neighborhood include:

(1) Growth – the period during which the neighborhood is characterized by development and growth;

(2) Stability – the period of time characterized by an equilibrium or leveling off of values; and

(3) Decline – the life stage characterized by diminishing demand and decay.

Neighborhood renewal and rehabilitation may cause the life cycle of a neighborhood to be repeated.

Table of Contents